Pumpkin soup


Each one of us used to hate veggies but there was always that certain veggie that we hated the most. As for me I had pumpkin-phobia, I’ve never EVER hated pumpkin more than I did few years ago when…
… My family and I were invited for Ftour during Ramadan and so we were supposed to have pumpkin soup served with fried fish. First, as a pumpking+fish hater I wasn’t really enjoying the idea and started to make up excuses. But, I was all rumbly in my tumbly besides my mom was like : ” You better eat that, for your own sake!” ( Well, the look on her eyes said enough, you can’t fool around with moms).  I drunk the flavorless soup all at once, it was so far the worst experience I’ve ever had with food…
sany0662
But I grew up to surpass my phobia and pumpkin soup happened to be one of the first soups I ever made; a perfect pumpkin soup rich in flavors takes no time and nothing but spices and love.
Warm up with this fall’s signature that suits all seasons! The nutmeg brings a strong aroma that you can smell before trying it. When I first made the soup, I remember having that “love from first sight” moment; I mean who wouldn’t fall in love with a soup that looks so creamy, so warm, smells like heaven and above all: it has many benefits !
Did you know that pumpkins are a solid source of the essential nutrient; they keep Eyesight Sharp, aid weight lost, may reduce cancer risks and boost the immune system!! All in one package!  So what are you waiting for foodies?

Ingredients: 

1 Kg pupmpkin ( the star of the recipe)
1 carrot
1 Big potato ( ot 2 small ones)
1 onion
1 garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon Black pepper
1 nutmeg
30 g of butter

Instructions: 

  1. First of all, melt butter over low heat(don’t forget, butter burns faster than oil). Add the chopped onion and garlic then wait until it gets translucid ( Let’s say cook it for about 10 min)
  2. Add cubed pumpkin, season it with salt and pepper . ( stir occasionaly)
  3. Let it cook on  low heat, wait for 15 minutes then add the cubed potato and carrot .
  4. Grate the nutmeg and wait for another 20 minutes until everything gets tender. (add water if necessary)
  5. When ready, grab you blender and let it do the work for you!

13101191_804837089649063_1199484324_n

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice to read about the transformation Pumpkin had on a food-hater 🙂 Well presented!

    Like

  2. chefkreso says:

    A classic soup, but so tasty, I really love pumpkin soup, the combination of flavors is lovely !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

