Cabbage rolls


Hey foodies,

Cooking is art, it’s a way of life! I’m so proud to say that cooking changed my life and starting this blog has added spices into my boring life. I’ve learned to make “spectacular” and unique dishes from scratch, I mean I’ve never though that a single egg could make miracles…

Spending 4 years alone, almost 200 km away from my parents; Cooking was one of the many things I couldn’t do in the right way, but somehow that’s when my love of food started and that’s how the fridge became my dearest friend… 1 year later my instagram journey began… 2 years later, the blog was born! Now, I’m having friends from all across the globe. I couldn’t express how much I’m glad to know each one of you: If you’re reading this, thank you for all the kind words and the love.

My inspiration for today’s dish is simply my fridge, have you ever experienced this feeling of opening the fridge and then doing instantly a brainstorming? So we had some minced meat Tagine leftover and plenty of cabbages… WHAT TO DO? Make cabbage rolls!

This is perfect for people who don’t like the crunchiness of this veggie but want to eat it for its health benefits ; in fact, the health benefits of cabbage include frequent use as a treatment for constipation, headaches, skin disorders, eczema, scurvy, rheumatism eye disorders, heart diseases, aging, and Alzheimer’s disease.

To add a vinegary sweet taste to the rolls, I chose to use my long time jar of pickles and pickled carrots + apples that I brought with me from my last visit to Fez! It tastes amazing and creates a  beautiful storm of tastes to the dish. If you’re vegan, you might want to fill the rolls using pickled veggies + green olives + Vermicelli! It’s a match made in heaven…

Btw, I had red cabbage and I steamed it for the same purpose but it lost its color !! I’m still shocked how it turned from bright purple into a deep blue veins color! I ate it eventually before shooting xd It tasted good of course…

Ingredients: 

  • 1 Green cabbage
  • 500 g Minced meat
  • 1 chopped onion
  • some parsley
  • Pickled ( apples+ carrots)
  • Pickles
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 Garlic clove (or 2)
  • Salt & pepper

Instructions:

  1. First, heat olive oil into a pan, add 1 onion and garlic and cook for 4 min on low heat!
  2. Add minced meat and parsley, and let it cook for 15 min on low heat. For a better taste; cook it in a tagine.
  3. Meanwhile, peal the cabbage leaves and steam them for 15 min.
  4. Cut the pickles and other pickled veggies ( Apples + carrots).
  5. Stuff the cabbage leaves, fold the edges and roll them!

 

13101191_804837089649063_1199484324_n

fotorcreated

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lexyleksono says:

    Must be delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

