Baked Harsha


This weekend has been a busy one, I’ve made tons of recipes… took so many shots and ate a lot! Luckily, It doesn’t bother me and I’m certain that it won’t bother you either; since you’ll be reading a new article!

Harcha or Harshais a moroccan flatbread made of semolina that is usually pan-fried. Harsha is everyone’s favorite here in Morocco, once you have tried the Moroccan harsha , especially if you dip it in honey or “Jben”, and eat it with a Moroccan mint tea, you might never recover from its amazing taste. I’m practicly eating it three times per week, and feel harsha-sick within 2 minutes after finishing it!

My inspiration for this recipe is my grandma( My mima) who is, actualy, my cooking idol, she introduced me to this easy peasy moroccan recipe that made me feel nostalgic… Grandma is a typical moroccan lady with MANY cooking notebooks where she keeps her old recipes, now that she became an insta addict ( like her granddaughter) she’s holding a virtual notebook since she is collecting screenshots of recipes haha.

You know, I must say that everything she cooks has a different outstanding taste; she has magical hands that can turn a simple dish with few ingredients into a flavoursome and a spellbinding recipe! Whenever I visit her, I don’t miss the chance to taste some of her delcious meals ( Lucky me, she always keeps Tektouka and zaalouk in her fridge)

 

Today, you’ll learn how to make Harsha but not any type of harcha, it’s a sweet baked Harsha that I used to buy from a local shop right after school. This modest biscuit styled Harsha is one of the many wonders of traditional moroccan foods that I can’t wait to share with you.

When I made it at home, my dad was like ” You’re making the cheapest yet the yummiest biscuit ever”. Well, he is right; this biscuit won’t cost you much money nor time! Just follow these steps and you’ll be rewarded!

SANY1399

Ingredients: 

  • 500 g Fine semolina flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar ( more or less)
  • 1 1/4 cup milk (warm)
  • 1 cup oil
  • pinch of salt
  • 14g baking powder (2 packets)
  • 1 tbs soft butter

Instructions: 

  1. Preheat the over at 300° C
  2. Work the dry ( semolina, sugar, salt, baking powder) ingredients  together with the oil, add the milk and butter then combine the whole mixture very well;
  3. Don’t worry, if it looks too watery because it will become more consistant when leaving it to rest for 15 min;
  4. Bake it for 20 min on 250° C.

13101191_804837089649063_1199484324_n

fotorcreated

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Just the picture shows how delicious the Harsha would be…. and the recipe is super simple!

    Like

Leave a Reply

