Mini Cherry Pies


Cherries are in season which means it’s pie-making season and today I’m gonna show you how to bake these beautiful mini cherry pies that are as delicious as they are elegant and good looking with an easy peasy butter crust and a mouthwatering filling

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 Cup (170 g) all purpose flour
  • 1/2 Cup (110 g) chilled butter
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • ice water
  • 2 cups Cherries
  • 2 tbsp sugar (you can add more sweetness)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp corn flour

Processed with VSCO

Instructions

  1. Put all the dry ingredients in a large bowl : flour, sugar and salt then stir it all together
  2. Add the butter : it has to be very cold and cut into small cubes
  3. Use a food processor ( or a fork but you have to work so well) combine the mixture  until butter is well worked into the flour (To retain those perfect decorative details, otherwise the butter will start to separate when it hits the hot oven )
  4. Add a tbsp or two of ice water and mix until you can form a dough ball
  5. Wrap the dough in wax paper and let it chill for few hours
  6. In the meantime, let’s make the pie filling: I’ve gone for cherries because they mean summer but you  can use raspberries or strawberries instead (I’m really into red fruits if you can tell haha)
  7. Cut your cherries in half (because we are making mini pies then add corn flour and sugar  and mix well until the cherries are all coated so here if you can cook it in a low heat for few minutes or you can allow  it to sit as it for 10 minutes
  8. Transfer your dough into a floured surface
  9. Roll the dough and place about the half in small pie plates then fill it with cherries
  10. Here comes my favorite part : I’ve been dying to decorate a pie crust since the first time I saw those incredibly pretty pies on Pintrest, and by the help of some cookie cutters, I was able to practice my creativity
  11. I have gone with a diffrent design for each mini pie, I played with floral shapes, leaves and the classic lace design and a special pi pie (I’m an engineering student you know haha)
  12. Use egg wash to wet the edges and stick your decorations on top
  13. Then brush each pie with egg wash and bake for 14-16 minutes until crust is browned. (in a preheated oven)
  14. Allow to cool and you are done!
  15. I was so happy with how my littles pies turned out then I took them with me to visit Maha and we had the best girly breakfast together

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Good Luck!

Imane

Leave a comment